The J2 Brief · Market intel

Six semiconductor price increases
in five months of 2026.

28 August 2026 · 9 minute read · By the J2 trading desk, Malmö

A short column of mirror-polished silicon wafers stacked edge-on in the middle of an empty deep petrol-green field, each wafer rim picked out as a thin bright line by one hard light from the right

Six semiconductor price increases have taken effect since the end of April 2026, and not one of them arrived with an allocation letter attached. STMicroelectronics moved three times: 26 April, 28 June, 23 August. Infineon and Texas Instruments both went on 1 July, Microchip on 14 August. Count back to ST's first customer notice on 24 March and that is five months of repricing on parts you can still order and still receive on schedule. The shelf is full. The number on the shelf edge is what moved, and buffer stock does nothing about that.

VendorAnnouncedEffectiveScope as statedReported increase
Analog DevicesDecember 2025, to customers and distribution1 February 2026Broad portfolio; distribution book price refreshedRoughly 10-30% depending on product, as reported by Microchip USA
NXP SemiconductorsPartner portal; book price updated 30 March 20261 April 2026Select products. Automotive, industrial control and IoT lines expected to carry most of itNot disclosed
Texas InstrumentsReported April 2026 move1 April 2026Select analog and embedded productsNot disclosed
STMicroelectronics24 March 2026 customer notification26 April 2026Multiple product lines, sensors and power ICs among themNot disclosed
STMicroelectronics28 May 2026 price adjustment notice28 June 2026Product families not covered by the April changeNot disclosed
Infineon TechnologiesCustomers and partners informed 26 May 20261 July 2026Selected semiconductor products; second Infineon move of 2026Not disclosed
Texas InstrumentsNotice dated 7 May 2026, circulated in the channel1 July 2026Multiple analog and embedded lines, digital isolators and power management ICs namedNot disclosed by TI. Distributors quoted to TrendForce put it at 15-85%
Microchip Technology29 June 2026 customer notice14 August 2026Selected products; applies to all orders and shipments from the effective dateNot disclosed
STMicroelectronics23 July 2026 price adjustment notice23 August 2026Several product lines across the portfolioNot disclosed

Announcement dates are as reported by the trade press and the distribution channel; sources 1 to 10 below. Where a vendor published no percentage, the cell says so. Treat the 15-85% range on TI as distributor commentary, not a TI figure.

Why are six vendors repricing at once?

Their own input costs moved first, and the numbers upstream are larger and better documented than anything the vendors have disclosed downstream.

Start with foundry. Samsung raised wafer prices by up to 15% from July 2026, split by node and by region: SF4 up 10 to 15% for customers in China and the United States, 5 to 10% for customers in Taiwan, and the 5nm SF5 line up 10 to 15%. Even 8nm, old enough that it normally competes on price alone, went up close to 10%. That is Reuters reporting, summarised by HWBusters in July 2026.

TSMC started earlier and is running a longer programme. TrendForce reported on 3 November 2025 that TSMC had been telling clients since September to expect average increases of around 3 to 5% on sub-5nm from January 2026, covering 2nm, 3nm, 4nm and 5nm, as the first step of a multi-year plan. Silicon Analysts puts the advanced-node range wider at 3 to 10%. The exact figure matters less than who is setting it: TSMC took 72.3% of global foundry revenue in the first quarter of 2026, up from 70.4% the quarter before, per TrendForce data published 12 June 2026, and its sub-5nm capacity is booked out on AI.

Then the substrate underneath all of it. Shin-Etsu, SUMCO and GlobalWafers ended roughly three flat years and went into a second round of increases from May 2026. High-end wafers for AI compute rose 18 to 22%, standard 12-inch rose 3 to 8%, and the cumulative annual increase is above 15%. Sunsirs has order books full through the third quarter and 300mm epitaxial utilisation running above 90%.

A device vendor buying at those numbers has three moves available: absorb the cost, shift the product mix, or pass it through. Table 1 is what passing it through looks like on your desk.

Upstream, with dates

  • 10-15%Samsung SF4 and SF5 wafers for China and US customers, from July 2026 (Reuters, via HWBusters, July 2026)
  • 3-5%TSMC sub-5nm, annual, from January 2026 (TrendForce, 3 November 2025)
  • 18-22%high-end AI wafers, second round from May 2026, Shin-Etsu, SUMCO and GlobalWafers (Sunsirs, 2026)
  • 72.3%TSMC share of global foundry revenue, Q1 2026 (TrendForce, published 12 June 2026)

Is the part short, or only expensive?

A part is short when you cannot get it on your schedule at any price, and only expensive when it ships on time and costs more than your last purchase order. Those are two different problems with two different fixes, and most risk registers still carry one column for both.

ShortMerely expensive
What you see Lead time past your planning horizon, an allocation letter, no franchise stock at any price Normal or slightly extended lead time, franchise stock available, a new price file
What it costs A stopped line, expedite fees, spot-market exposure and the counterfeit risk that comes with it Margin, quietly, on every unit for the rest of the programme
What buffer stock does Bridges the gap. This is the job it was built for. Nothing once the buffer is consumed. Replenishment books at the new price, and capital sits on a shelf in the meantime.
What actually defends you Dual sourcing, early qualification, firm orders placed past the lead time, disciplined last-time-buy management Indexed contracts, LTA renewals timed ahead of the effective date, a written backlog rule, short quote-to-order cycles
Where it shows up in 2026 Power management and automotive-grade ICs at 40 to 52 weeks (GlobX, 2026), mainstream STM32 at 52 weeks, high-capacitance MLCC at 20 to 26 weeks, DDR5 on allocation Most of Table 1: analog, embedded, power and interface parts that arrive on the promised date at a higher number

The trap is in the backlog rule, and it is the reason stock built in June does not save you in September. Microchip's 29 June notice says the 14 August adjustment applies to all orders and shipments from the effective date. Read that literally: an order you placed in May, shipping on 20 August, can be invoiced at the new price. ST's 23 July notice confirms the increase from 23 August and says nothing at all about how existing backlog will be treated, which is worse, because silence is not protection. If your LTA does not spell out backlog treatment in writing, you do not have a price, you have an expectation.

How tight has the cadence become?

One price adjustment took effect in the first quarter of 2026, and eight took effect in the five months after it. Plotted by effective date, the clustering is the story: April, late June into early July, then two more inside ten days of August.

Effective dates of semiconductor price increases, January to August 2026 A timeline strip running from January to August 2026 with nine price adjustments marked at their effective dates. Analog Devices takes effect on 1 February. NXP and Texas Instruments both take effect on 1 April. STMicroelectronics takes effect on 26 April, again on 28 June and again on 23 August. Infineon and Texas Instruments both take effect on 1 July. Microchip takes effect on 14 August. One adjustment lands in the first three months of the year and eight land in the five months after it, with six of those falling between 26 April and 23 August. Six notices, 26 Apr to 23 Aug Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug ADI 1 Feb NXP 1 Apr TI 1 Apr IFX 1 Jul TI 1 Jul MCHP 14 Aug ST 26 Apr ST 28 Jun ST 23 Aug Squares mark STMicroelectronics. Positions are effective dates, not announcement dates.

Text equivalent: 1 Feb Analog Devices; 1 Apr NXP and Texas Instruments; 26 Apr STMicroelectronics; 28 Jun STMicroelectronics; 1 Jul Infineon and Texas Instruments; 14 Aug Microchip; 23 Aug STMicroelectronics. Sources 1 to 10 below.

Two things follow from that shape. A vendor review run once a year will miss most of it, because the gap between adjustments is now measured in weeks. And the increases are segmented rather than portfolio-wide: ST's June round deliberately targeted families the April round had left alone, so a buyer who checked in May and found their parts untouched was wrong by the end of June. Per part number, per notice, per date. There is no shortcut.

What actually defends the price?

Three things, none of them inventory: an indexed contract, an LTA renewal timed ahead of a known effective date, and a backlog rule written into the agreement rather than assumed.

An indexed contract ties the device price to something you can both see, a 300mm wafer index or a published foundry rate card, with a cap and a floor on the annual move. It will not stop prices rising when Shin-Etsu raises wafers 18%. It does stop the unbounded, unexplained, three-times-a-year adjustment, and it moves the argument from "the market" to a number you can both check.

Renewal timing is the cheaper lever and the one most teams get backwards. Deferring a renewal in the hope the wave passes just hands the vendor a stronger position, because the next notice lands and your leverage goes with it. If you knew on 23 July that ST's third increase would take effect on 23 August, the window to renegotiate closed in early August. Look at Table 1, mark the vendors whose notices have run twice already, and open those conversations before the third one arrives.

Everything else is housekeeping that pays for itself. Record quote validity as a field, not a footnote. Re-cost the BOM against effective dates instead of on the quarter boundary. Keep lifecycle status under review on parts that are merely expensive today, because a device carrying a thin margin under a repricing wave is a device the vendor is thinking about discontinuing. And on the parts that really are short, the old rules stand: dual source early, and remember that on AEC-Q qualified automotive lines approving that second source takes months you have to start now. Where the franchise pipe quotes past your build date, 150,000 lines of independent stock and a Malmö lab behind it close the gap.

How long is a quote good for now?

Shorter than your approval cycle, which is the whole problem. Franchise quotes that carried 30 to 90 days in a stable market are being written far tighter on volatile analog, power and microcontroller lines, and 72 hours is what European buyers report on the worst of them. That number is channel practice rather than a published policy, so take it as directional and confirm the validity date in writing on anything material.

The practical consequence is a process change, not a mindset. Stop pulling quotes speculatively and sitting on them. Pull the quote when the decision is ready to be made, and if internal approval takes longer than the validity window, either compress the approval or negotiate the window explicitly before you ask for the price. Any quote issued before a vendor effective date is stale on the day after it, whether or not the printed expiry has passed. Treat a quote as perishable. It has a date on it for a reason, and in 2026 the date is doing real work.

Frequently asked questions

How many semiconductor price increases have there been in 2026?

Six took effect between 26 April and 23 August: ST on 26 April, 28 June and 23 August, Infineon and TI on 1 July, Microchip on 14 August. Add NXP on 1 April and Analog Devices on 1 February and there are nine dated adjustments across the first eight months.

Why does buffer stock not protect against a price increase?

It defends lead time, which is a different risk. Replenishment books at whatever the price file says on the day, and several 2026 notices apply to all orders and shipments from the effective date, so backlog you placed months ago can be repriced before it ships.

What is driving the 2026 semiconductor price increases?

Foundry and wafer costs. Samsung went up to 15% from July, TSMC began 3 to 5% annual rises on sub-5nm in January, and Shin-Etsu, SUMCO and GlobalWafers put high-end AI wafers up 18 to 22% after roughly three flat years.

How long is a component quote valid in 2026?

Days rather than months on the volatile lines, with 72 hours reported at the sharp end. That is channel practice, not published policy, so get the validity date in writing and re-quote before you release the order.

Repriced three times
on the same part number?

Search 150,000+ lines of real stock, or send the list you're hunting. A trader replies the same working day.

Every new brief,
in your inbox.

Pieces like this one, sent the day they publish: an allocation shift, a lead time that moved, what the lab found in a suspect lot.

Unsubscribe from any email. We stay quiet in between.